News Karnataka
Thursday, February 09 2023

Shivamogga: BJP wins Mayor, Deputy Mayor in City Corporation

Photo Credit :

Shivamogga: Shivakumar has been elected as the new Mayor and Lakshmi Shankar Naik as the Deputy Mayor of Shivamogga City Corporation.

The election was held in the Metropolitan Municipality Hall. The Mayor’s post was reserved for Scheduled Castes. BJP’s Gurupura-Purale Ward Corporator Shivakumar and Congress’ Malavagoppa Ward Corporator R. C. Naik were in the fray.

BJP’s Shivakumar got 26 votes. JD (S) – Congress consensus candidate R. C. Naik got 11 votes.

The Deputy Mayor’s post was reserved for a BCM (A) category woman. BJP’s New Mandli Ward Member Laxmi Shankar Naik and Congress’ Hosamane Ward Member Rekha Ranganath had contested.

Laxmi Shankar Naik finally got 26 votes. L Rekha Ranganath got 11 votes. Regional Commissioner Aditya Amlan Biswas served as the Returning Officer.

Share this:
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rohan City Corp
Rohan City Corp

Find the best odds at 10Cric and IPL Betting 2023! Signup today and get up to a 100% deposit bonus.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp