News Karnataka
Sunday, April 02 2023

State level Dasara sports, three more records rewritten

Photo Credit :

Mysuru: If Day 1 saw four new meet records rewritten, Day 2 saw three more records rewritten, two in men and one in women in the state level Dasara sports meet athletic event which is being held at Chamundi Vihar Stadium here on Monday, October 3.

In the men’s 1500mtr, KA Bharath, Post Graduate Economics student from Bengaluru Urban created a new meet record by clocking 3:58:00sec. He erased a seven-year-old record which was created by MD Manjunath of Mysuru division who had clocked 4:01:5sec (2009). Vinayaka Ghadi of Mysuru and TS Sandeep from Bengaluru Rural stood second and third with a timing of 4:09:30sec and 4:09:50sec respectively.

In the discus throw event, Keerthi Kumar Benake of Belgaum division created a new meet record by throwing the discus to 49.77mtrs. He erased the five-year-old record which was created by Dharam Veersingh of Mysuru division who had thrown the discus to 47.76mtrs. Keerthi was far ahead when compared to his compatriot VS Vikyath and MR Nandish, both from Mysuru who stood second and third by throwing the discus to the distance of 38.62mtrs and 35.55mtrs respectively. “Felt happy to be a part of the record book. My best is 53mtrs, but due to slippery conditions, I couldn’t take risk,” added 21-year-old Keerthi who is pursuing his BA in Belgaum. In the 400mtr and 110mtr hurdles, Tarun Shekar of Bengaluru Urban and Ashaya Shalawadi of Belgaum stood first respectively.

In the women’s section, in the 1500mtr event, Thippavva Sannaki of Mysuru division who had created record of sort by winning Dasara half marathon race for three consecutive years snatched a nail biting win over compatriot Shraddha Shetty from Mysuru division. Thippavva took 5:04:00sec to win the race while Shraddha Shetty took 5:04:30sec to settle for silver. In the 4x100mtr relay, the team comprising of Apsana Begam, Praina S Prakash, Nithyashree and Reena George from Bengaluru Urban created new meet record by clocking 47.00sec. The foursome erased two-year-old record created by Bengaluru Urban who had clocked 47.4sec. Earlier on day 1, Reena George, Apsana Begam and Nithyashree were the part of 4x400mtr relay team which created a new meet record.

New meet records:

1500mtr – KA Bharath, Bengaluru Urban, 3:58:00sec (old record 4:01:5sec in 2009)

Discus Throw –Keerthi Kumar Benake, Belgaum, 49.77mtr (old record 47.76mtr in 2011)

4x100relay – Bengaluru Urban (Apsana Begam, Praina S Prakash, Nithyashree, Reena George), 47sec (old record 47.4sec in 2014)

Share this:
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rohan City Corp

Find the best odds at 10Cric and IPL Betting 2023! Signup today and get up to a 100% deposit bonus.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp