News Karnataka
Tuesday, October 04 2022

Kuwait Kannada Koota: Daasotsava 2014 celebrations!

Photo Credit :

Kuwait, Mar 7: Kuwait Kannada Koota (KKK), a premier Kannada association founded in 1984, celebrated Daasotsava at Carmel School, Khaitan.

Daasotsava is its first annual program of the calendar year celebrated as a tribute to all the veterans of Daasa Movement in Karnataka. 

‘Daasotsava’ is a word derived from the word ‘Daasa’ which literally means servants of the lord and ‘Utsava’ which means festival. Daasa is a devotional movement which is considered as one of the turning points in the cultural history of India and took shape in the 13th century – 14th period.

As a tribute to Daasas and in particular Purandara Daasa, known as ‘Daasas of all Daasas’, the famous ‘Srinivasa Kalyanotsava’ was performed. The ‘Kalyanotsava’ is customarily performed for seeking the God’s grace for the welfare of the world.

All these Daasas sang the glory of Almighty in a poetic form in simple language, understandable by a lay man. In fact, they shared their enlightenment with the common public to educate them to have moral values. This rare and divine occasion was witnessed by hundreds comprising of the Koota members, various visitors and guests.

Along side of the Kalyanotsava, fancy dress competition for children with a mythological theme was conducted. As many as sixty Koota children participated in Shloka chanting. Men and women sang devotional Bhajans to add an ambience of divinity suited to the occasion.

The program commenced with a warm welcome address by Sandhya Arun, cultural committee convenor  ,followed by lighting of the lamp by executive committee members and invocation song.

An elegant stage decoration by the cultural committee members and the venue entrance decoration by the Public committee convener Dr.Sangeetha Amrutraj and her team created a divine ambiance for the occasion.

This grand occasion was organised under the direction of the 2014 executive committee members of the Kuwait Kannada Koota which comprise of Dr.Diwakar, president, Vishweshwar Karkal, Vice President, Anant Mangalagi, Secretary and Rajesh Vittal, Treasurer.


Share this:
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Visit 7Jackpots and find the best online casinos in India! Play the most popular casino games for real money!

Find the best odds at 10Cric and ipl betting 2021! Signup today and get up to a 100% deposit bonus.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp