News Karnataka
Wednesday, April 24 2024

Grand Prix Chess: IM Vikramaditya , Guru Prakash in Title Clash

Grand Prix Chess IM Vikramaditya Guru Prakash in Title Clash
Photo Credit : IANS

Mumbai: International Master Vikramaditya Kulkarni, champion of the third series, and Guru Prakash, victor of the second series, have advanced to the summit clash of the Rs 2.50 lakh prize money Grand Prix Chess Series, organised by Indian Chess School, here on Sunday.

On the top board, IM Kulkarni secured a victory over Sanjeev Mishra, while Guru Prakash triumphed over Arvind Iyer, achieving an impressive 5.5/6 record to lead the field of 101 players.

A group of six players including Atharv Soni, Arnav Koli, Ram Vishal Parab, Mihir Shah, Arjun Singh, and Vivek Jadhav are closely trailing the leaders with a score of 5/6. They maintain an outside chance of clinching the title on a tie-break scenario if the final encounter between the leaders concludes in a draw.

Key Results of Round 6:

IM Vikramaditya (5½) beat Mishra Sanjeev (4½); Guru Prakash (5½) beat Iyer Arvind (4½); Arnav Koli (5) drew Shah Mihir (5); Ram Parab (5) beat Muthe Dhruv (4); Vihaan Rao (4) lost to Soni Atharv (5); Arjun Singh (5) beat Pasbola Samvid (4); Vivek Jadhav (5) beat Pranamya S (4); Boricha Yohan (4½) beat Milind Parle (3½); Kapadi Yash (4½) beat Sunil Vaidya (3½); Isaiah Nazareth (4½) beat Yuti Patel (3½).

Read more:

India’s Chess Champs Await Visas for Wc Qualifiers

All India Chess Championship 2024 Opens at MAHE

Praggnanandhaa Surpasses Anand, Becomes India’s No. 1 in Chess

Share this:
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
Nktv Live

To get the latest news on WhatsApp