News Karnataka
Tuesday, November 28 2023

Blind cricket: India’s Simu Das, Phula Saren level Nepal series

Indias Simu Das and Phula Saren level Nepal in blind cricket
Photo Credit : By Author

Pokhara Nepal: Unbeaten half-centuries by Simu Das and Phula Saren helped India beat Nepal by 9 wickets in the second match of the Women’s Bilateral Series for the Blind which was played here at the Pokhara Stadium. India levelled the series after Nepal had won the first match yesterday. 

India’s Captain Sushma Patel won the toss and opted to field. Phula Saren struck in the second over dismissing Gita Poudel and last match’s centurion Binita Pun was run out in the third over reducing Nepal to 24-2. Ganga dismissed Maya Lingali in the seventh over halting the momentum of the host’s innings. Sarita Ghimire and Bimala Rai then put together an 84-run partnership for the fourth wicket giving the innings some momentum. The Indian bowlers dismissed both batters in the space of two overs ending the hopes of Nepal posting a big total. Sarita scored 56 runs while Bimala scored 29. The bowlers wrapped up the innings quickly and bowled out Nepal in the last ball of the innings. Eventually, Nepal were all out for 172 in their 20 overs. Phula Saren, Ganga and Sushma Patel picked a wicket each for India and the rest were all run out. 

In reply, Indian openers Ganga and Phula Saren scored quick runs in the first six overs taking the score to 64 in 6.2 overs before Ganga was dismissed for 22 runs through a run-out. Phula was joined by Simu Das, a player from the B1 category and both batters started the flow of runs. Simu especially was playing her strokes and scoring at will. She finished her innings unbeaten on 66 of just 27 balls with the help of two boundaries. On the other hand, Phula Saren scored 65 of 43 balls with the help of five boundaries. India crossed the target set by Nepal in just 14.3 overs making the series level after two matches. 

Simu Das was adjudged the Player of the Match
Simu Das

Simu Das was adjudged the Player of the Match for her match-winning innings. The third match of the series will be played on Friday, 28 at the Mulpani Cricket Ground, Kathmandu.

Brief Scores

NEPAL – 172/10 in 20 overs (Sarita Ghimire – 56, Bimala Rai – 29, Binita Pun – 18; Sushma Patel – 1/15, Ganga – 1/21, Phula Saren – 1/26) lost to INDIA – 174/1 in 14.3 overs (Simu Das – 66 no, Phula Saren – 65 no, Ganga – 22)

Share this:
Media Release

Read More Articles
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
Editor's Pick

Find the best odds at 10Cric and IPL Betting 2023! Signup today and get up to a 100% deposit bonus.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp