News Karnataka
Friday, September 30 2022

Karnataka Cricket Stadium – List of Stadiums

Photo Credit :

Cricket is the most admired kind of sport in India which is also referred to as the unofficial religion of the country. The majority of people literally worship cricket in India in spite of age, gender or social status. Karnataka is one of the states of India where this sports discipline also occupies a crucial place. Until the year 1973, it was called Mysore. The state has its own cricket team which is considered to be among the leading teams in Indian cricket. KSCA (Karnataka State Cricket Association) is a regulatory authority of this kind of sport in this state, the president of which is Roger Binny. It is linked to the bigger governing body which is the Board of Control for Cricket in India.

By the way, if you would like to make a profit out of placing bets on cricket, then you will definitely benefit from top betting sites. These are great platforms that offer numerous cricket events as well as diverse types of bets. If you would like to obtain a memorable betting experience then visit Takebet India and treat yourself to the best places for wagering.

Owing to the huge popularity of cricket in Karnataka, there are plenty of home competitions that take place in the country. These are Karnataka Premier League, the Ranji Trophy, the Duleep Trophy, Vijay Hazare Trophy, etc. Therefore, there are a significant number of stadiums where all those prominent events may occur. In this article, you will find out about the greatest cricket venues in Karnataka.

Ajjarakadu Mahatma Gandhi District Stadium

This is a cricket stadium that is situated in the city of Karnataka called Udupi. This venue serves multiple purposes as it hosts either cricket or football games, but also diverse exhibitions and fairs. The stadium was renovated in 2015 and today has a seating capacity of 10 thousand people. The ground has an eight-lane synthetic four hundred meters running track, a ten-lane hundred sprinting track, and a four-lane synthetic warm-up track.

D.R. Bendre Cricket Stadium

This is a cricket ground which was assembled in the year 2012 and is located in the city Hubli. The stadium has 50 000 seats and is constructed in accordance with international standards. D.R. Bendre is a prominent Karnataka poet after whom the ground is named. This is actually a place where the 3rd unofficial match between West Indies A cricket team and India A cricket team took place. The tenants of the venue are the Hubli Tigers and the Karnataka Cricket Team.

Dr. Bhimrao Ambedkar Stadium

This cricket stadium is located in Ayodhya city of the state of Uttar Pradesh. It is also called Jai Bhim Stadium and is located within the Ayodhya Sports Complex. The stadium was built in 2014 and opened later in 2019. The maximum capacity of the ground is 88 000. This venue is being funded by the state government and the preceding party. It features artificial grass, a synthetic track, a swimming pool, a cricket field, hostels, and other necessary amenities which allow people to practice not only playing cricket but also various other kinds of sports.

KSCA Stadium

This was a cricket ground, the location of which is Belagavi. The contemporary name of this ground is M. Chinnaswamy Stadium. The first match occurred at this venue in 2016/2017. Two prominent matches of the Ranji Trophy took place at this stadium in which the Gujarat national team participated.

M. Chinnaswamy Stadium

This is a cricket stadium the address of which is Bengaluru, the largest city of Karnataka. The place may provide seats for 40 000 people. The venue was established in 1969 and it is occasionally a place where both national and international cricket events such as ODI, T20i and diverse First-class matches occur. The Karnataka national team and Royal Challengers Bengaluru (franchise of the Indian Premier League) are the tenants of the venue. By the way, the city of Bengaluru also hosted two important matches of the Cricket World Cup in 2011. The stadium was renamed after Mangalam Chinnaswamy who was the head of BCCI in the years 1977-1980. This was the place where two great West Indian batsmen, Viv Richards and Gordon Greenidge, made their debuts. The National Cricket Academy is also situated at this venue.

Mangalore International Cricket Stadium

This is an international cricket stadium that is located in the port city of Mangalore in Karnataka. The plan for this venue was introduced in 2013 by Mangalore City Corporation and Siddaramaiah, Chief Minister of Karnataka.

Nehru Stadium, Hubli

The Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium is the full name of the Nehru Stadium that is located in Hubli, Karnataka. The stadium was constructed in 1958 and its maximum capacity is 15 000 people. This venue hosts football, cricket and other sporting events. Three Ranji Trophy matches happened at this stadium. The first match took place in 1972 between Kerala and Mysore.

Nehru Stadium, Shimoga

This is a cricket ground which is situated in Shivamogga, Karnataka. The cricket venue was opened in 1973 and its seating capacity is 5000 people. The stadium was the place where two first-class matches were played in 1973 and 1979. Since then, no significant cricket matches have taken place there.

Nehru Stadium, Tumkur

This magnificent stadium has its location in Tumkur which is known as an industrial city of Karnataka. The venue was opened in 1973. Its maximum seating capacity is 20 000 people. The stadium was the venue where one prominent first-class match in 1973 between the Karnataka national team and the Vidarbha team was organized.

RN Shetty Stadium

This cricket stadium is located in Dharwad city of Karnataka in India. It was opened in 1949 and modernized in 2012. The capacity of the stadium is 20 thousand people. This venue is quite popular among educational institutions because it is situated not far from Karnatak College Dharwad, St. Joseph’s High School, Jubilee Circle and Karnataka University Dharwad. The stadium mainly hosts football, cricket and ice hockey matches. A notable match between the Karnataka team and the Hyderabad team took place on this ground in 1990.

Three Ovals KSCA Stadium

This is a cricket ground that is situated in Alur which is a settlement in Bangalore. The year of its establishment is 2011. This ground is also referred to as the KSCA Cricket Ground. The stadium has three cricket venues which are called Silver Oval, Golden Oval and Platinum Oval. There are 22 pitches in the stadium. KM Ramprasad, the president of the Karnataka State Cricket Association bought 12 hectares of land for this stadium in the 2000s. The first official match occurred only in 2011 at this venue.

Cricket stadium in Karnataka FAQ

How many cricket stadiums are there in Karnataka?

Overall, there are eighteen cricket venues in the state.

Which is the biggest cricket stadium in Karnataka?

The largest stadium in Karnataka is Dr. Bhimrao Ambedkar Stadium as its capacity is 88 thousand people.

Share this:
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Visit 7Jackpots and find the best online casinos in India! Play the most popular casino games for real money!

Find the best odds at 10Cric and ipl betting 2021! Signup today and get up to a 100% deposit bonus.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp