News Karnataka
Monday, February 26 2024

Nagesh Trophy: Odisha, AP, K’taka, Gujarat reach semifinals

Nagesh Trophy Odisha AP Ktaka Gujarat reach semifinals
Photo Credit : By Author

Hyderabad: Odisha, Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka and Gujarat qualified for the semifinals of the IndusInd Bank Nagesh Trophy T20 Cricket tournament for the Blind 2022- 23 with one match day of the Super 8s remaining which is being played here at the AYR Cricket Ground and Masters Cricket Ground. The four teams won two out of two matches in their Super 8 groups making it impossible for the teams below them to qualify. The final matches of the Super 8s will be played tomorrow which will determine the positions in the group and which teams will play each other in the semifinals. 

In the Group B match played at Masters Cricket Ground Karnataka thumped Jharkhand by 129 runs to secure their second win in the Super 8s. Winning the toss and electing to bat, Karnataka openers Sunil Ramesh and Bhaskar put together a wonderful display of strokes and dominated the Jharkhand bowling attack. They put together a massive partnership of 235 runs in 17.4 overs. Sunil scored an unbeaten 151 runs of just 58 balls with the help of 28 boundaries and one six while Bhaskar scored 72 of 54 balls which included 7 boundaries. They finished their innings on 267/2 in their 20 overs. Rahul Soren was the best bowler for Jharkhand with figures of 1/45. Chasing a huge target, Jharkhand lost 3 wickets inside the first six overs which halted their tryst to gain any momentum in the chase. Karnataka bowlers put the leash on the batters and took wickets at regular intervals. Opener Sanjeev Kerketta top scored with an unbeaten 55. Sujit Munda (24) and Anish Kumar (27) also offered some resistance. Eventually, Jharkhand ended their innings at 138 for 7 in 20 overs. Basavaraj M Hullenavar was the pick of the bowlers with figures of 3/27. Lokesh, Javare Gowda and Srinath took a wicket each.

In the other match of the group, Gujarat thumped Delhi by 10 wickets to secure their second consecutive victory of the Super 8s stage. Opting to bat after winning the toss, Delhi got off to a good start with the openers Vipin Kumar and Manish Kumar scoring runs at a steady pace. They put together 74 runs before Manish was dismissed for 39 runs. Vipin was also dismissed shortly after scoring 32 runs. Alok Kumar and Niraj Kumar Pandey put together 68 runs for the fourth wicket taking Delhi’s innings to a respectable total. Alok scored 43 runs while Niraj scored 30. In the end Delhi ended their innings on 171/6 in 20 overs. Hitesh Patel, Naresh Tumda and Kalpesh Nimbadkar took a wicket each for Gujarat. In reply, Gujarat openers were looking in a hurry to finish the game which they achieved in just 13.5 overs. Dinesh Rathava remained unbeaten on 85 while Hitesh Patel scored 70.

In the Group A match played at AYR Cricket Ground, defending champions Andhra Pradesh got the better of Haryana by 8 wickets. This is the second win for Andhra in this stage. Andhra sends Haryana to bat after winning the toss. They did not allow the Haryana batters barring Deepak Mallik to settle and score runs. Opener Deepak who remained unbeaten on 93 runs was out of partners as he did not have any support from the other end to propel his team to a big total. Vineet Kumar was the only other batter who could manage double figures. Deepak’s innings came off 64 balls with 12 boundaries and 2 sixes. Haryana scored 153/6 in their 20 overs. Ajay Kumar Reddy, Durga Rao and Govinda Raju took a wicket each for Andhra. In reply, Andhra openers Ajay Kumar Reddy and Thandava Krishna took the game away from Haryana with an opening wicket partnership of 127 runs in 12.1 overs. Thandava was dismissed for 34. Ajay Kuamr Reddy who captained the Indian team to World Cup glory took Andhra home without much problems in just 14 overs. He remained unbeaten on 93 runs from 46 deliveries with the help of 16 boundaries.

In the final match of the day, Odisha ran through Chandigarh and secured the victory by 9 wickets. Winning the toss and batting first, Chandigarh had no answer to some terrific bowling and fielding performance from the Odisha side. They were dismissed for just 60 runs in 19.5 overs. Taj Mohammad was the only batter in double figures and top scored with 23 runs. Lingaraj Rautara was the pick of the bowlers with figures of 3/15 supported by Sukhram Majhi (2/5) and Debaraj Behera and Md. Jafar Iqbal who took a wicket each. Chasing a small total, Odisha reached the target in just 6.2 overs with the loss of one wicket. Opener Anjan Singh remained unbeaten on 29. Ved Prakash took the wicket for Chandigarh.

Tomorrow’s Matches

Andhra Pradesh vs Odisha

Delhi vs Jharkhand

Haryana vs Chandigarh

Gujarat vs Karnataka

Read more:

AP, K’taka, Gujarat, Odisha win Nagesh Trophy first day matches

Super 8 Stage matches of Nagesh Trophy  inaugurated 

Jharkhand cruises to Nagesh Trophy Super 8s with win over Bihar

Punjab’s solid play gets it two straight wins in Nagesh Trophy

AP, Odisha continue winning streak in the Nagesh Trophy

Share this:
Media Release

Read More Articles
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Find the best odds at 10Cric and IPL Betting 2023! Signup today and get up to a 100% deposit bonus.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp