News Karnataka
Thursday, April 18 2024

Lanka Premier League 2nd edition to begin on July 30

Lpg 080621 640
Photo Credit :

Colombo: The Lanka Premier League (LPL) T20 tournament’s second edition will be held between July 30 to August 22, Sri Lanka Cricket announced on Tuesday.

“SLC wishes to reiterate that the second edition of the Lanka Premier League (LPL) will be held during July and August 2021, as earlier announced. Accordingly, the tournament will be held from 30th July to 22nd August 2021,” said an SLC statement on Tuesday.

The 2021 edition will be held in a bio-secure environment as Covid-19 cases continue to rise in the island nation.

“The 2020 edition was held under a successful bio-bubble environment. Health protocols for the 2nd edition of the LPL will be planned based on the directions of the Ministry of Health,” said the SLC.

The inaugural edition of LPL, which is Sri Lanka’s top domestic T20 league and includes international cricketers, was conducted in 2020 in Hambantota. There were five teams in the tournament. It was won by Jaffna Stallions, who defeated Galle Gladiators by four wickets in the final.

Three Indian cricketers were part of the first edition of LPL. They were former India pacers Irfan Pathan, Munaf Patel, and Sudeep Tyagi.

Share this:
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp