News Karnataka
Saturday, March 02 2024

With IPL 2019 at the half way stage, would you like to predict a winner?

Photo Credit :

Cover image

The IPL 2019 is at the halfway stage. 32 matches out of a total 59 matches are complete and the excitement is razor sharp, with a number of close calls and unexpected finishes, including one match so far requiring a super over – Delhi Capitals vs KKR which ended in a win for the Delhi Capitals.

The IPL is one of the biggest and richest T20 leagues in the world. Started in 2008 by the Board of Control for Cricket in India, it has evolved into a money spinner for all stakeholders – the franchisees, the Board, the players and the game of cricket. Spectators too have had the best of it in the 12 years it has been conducted. The excitement, the fervor, the involvement often bordering on the fanatic must be seen to be believed – and it can be seen in the attendance at home stadiums.

IPL 2019 is the 12th edition of this premier tournament. Like the previous editions, it has 8 teams participating. One of the original teams Delhi Daredevils has now been revamped and renamed as the Delhi Capitals – this after their previous outings in the tournament were unsuccessful. Their strategy seems successful. As they are now number two on the list. Chennai Super Kings, the defending champions are at the top of the table at the halfway stage

The current standings are as follows:

IPL Points tableSo who will win this tournament? That’s anybody’s guess. Chennai Super Kings, the table toppers have won the tournament the most times, while Mumbai Indians, who have won the title twice is 3rd on the table. Yesterday’s match saw Kings XI Punjab pip two-time winner KKR for the fourth spot they are bound to bounce back with Andre Russell in their line up.  But, when its T20 cricket all bets are off. Or are they? Maybe you should check the IPL 2019 predictions by bettingtop10, and see for yourself what is expected in the rest of the league.

The Indian premier league was preceded by the Indian Cricket League (ICL) in 2007. The ICL like the Packer series way back in Australia, was funded by Zee Entertainment Enterprises. The BCCI was riled with its set up, even as BCCI committee members and prominent players signed up. They had no choice but to deal with the fall out. As a counter measure, it increased the prize money for their own domestic tournaments, imposed lifetime bans on players joining the ICL and then on 13th Sept 2007 set up the Indian Premier League – a franchise based T20 cricket competition, masterminded by the then VP of the BCCI. He has since, fallen from grace. The team owners were decided by auction that fetched USD 723.59 Million and it got off to a grand start in 2008. The ICL soon folded.


Share this:
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Find the best odds at 10Cric and IPL Betting 2023! Signup today and get up to a 100% deposit bonus.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp