News Karnataka
Wednesday, April 24 2024

Indonesia adds France to travel ban list

Sl Bans All Indian Travellers Until Further Notice
Photo Credit :

Jakarta: Indonesia will ban entry for foreign travellers from France starting from Friday January 7 following rising Omicron variant infections in the European country, according to the latest regulation on travel restriction released by the Indonesian Covid-19 Task Force.

France has been added to Indonesia’s travel ban list following 13 other countries including South Africa, Botswana, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Zambia, Lesotho, Mozambique, Eswatini, Malawi, Angola, Norway, Denmark, and the UK, Xinhua news agency reported.

The travel ban is imposed because those countries have recorded a significant number of reports on local infections of Omicron variant, or because they are geographically located near South Africa, where the Omicron variant was first detected.

As of Wednesday, the Health Ministry has recorded a total of 254 omicron infections in Indonesia, including 15 local transmissions.

The regulation also states that Indonesian citizens with travel histories from the 14 countries are allowed to enter Indonesia, but must undergo a 10-day quarantine.

Meanwhile, Indonesian citizens and foreigners from other than the listed countries must undergo a seven-day quarantine.

Share this:
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
Nktv Live

To get the latest news on WhatsApp