News Karnataka
Sunday, March 03 2024

Valletta: Five Mediterranean countries call for more EU solidarity on migration

New Project 18 1
Photo Credit : IANS

Valletta: Interior ministers of five EU Mediterranean countries has called for more EU solidarity on migration and more efforts to prevent irregular migration.

At the end of the so-called “Med 5” ministerial-level meeting held in Malta’s capital Valletta on Friday and Saturday, ministers of Malta, Greece, Italy, Spain and Cyprus signed a joint declaration.

The meeting was held just days after a deadly migrant shipwreck off Italy. At least 64 migrants died on February 26 when their boat hit rocks near the coast of the southern Italian region of Calabria, Xinhua news agency reported.

The five ministers agreed that more work needs to be done at a European level to address the root causes of migration and prevent irregular migration, according to the joint declaration released by the Maltese Ministry for Home Affairs, Security, Reforms and Equality.

They reaffirmed their position on the need to “strike a balance between (EU) Member States’ responsibilities on the one hand and the need for solidarity on the other,” the joint declaration said.

They also called for more efforts for “the establishment of a permanent and mandatory solidarity mechanism that factors the real needs of frontline Member States and ensures that these needs are fully met through the solidarity contributions”.

Share this:
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Find the best odds at 10Cric and IPL Betting 2023! Signup today and get up to a 100% deposit bonus.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp