News Karnataka
Thursday, April 18 2024

Bishop Peter Paul Saldanha ordains 10 Deacons at St Joseph Church

Photo Credit :

Mangaluru: Most Rev. Dr Peter Paul Saldanha, Bishop of Mangalore conferred the Sacred Ordination to the Diaconate to ten deacons of St Joseph Seminary on October 13, 2021, at St Joseph Church, Jeppu, Mangalore, adhering strictly to the norms of government authorities.
The names of the Deacons are as follows:
Dn Aaron Babush, OCD
Dn Ivan Peter Cordeiro, Arva parish for Mangalore diocese
Dn Jason Francis Coutinho, OCD
Dn Johnson Pereira, Omzoor parish for Mangalore diocese
Dn Leo Dsouza, Arva parish for Udupi diocese
Dn Pradeep Cardoza, Hirebail parish for Udupi diocese
Dn Ronald Minin Furtado, OCD
Dn Vijay Monteiro, Bankal parish for Mangalore diocese
Dn Vivek Deepak Pinto, Madanthyar parish for Mangalore diocese
Dn Vivian Nishant Rodrigues, Kollangana parish for Mangalore diocese
Bishop Presided over the Eucharistic celebration and instructed deacons about their ministry and the way of life. Addressing the deacons during the homily the bishop said, “The first step was taken by Jesus and then these brothers followed these footsteps of Jesus; It is Jesus who chose you to preach His word, to serve at His altar and lead an exemplary life,” said the bishop.
Very Rev. Fr Ronald Serrao, Rector, St Joseph seminary presented the candidates to the bishop, to be conferred the Sacred Order of Diaconate. Bishop ordained these 10 brothers to the order of diaconate in the presence of priests, religious, laity, parents and relatives.
Rev. Fr Maxim L. Noronha, Vicar General of the diocese, Rev. Fr Victor George D’Souza, Chancellor, Rev. Fr Ronald Serrao, Rector, Very Rev. Fr Charles Serrao OCD, the Provincial Superior of Karnataka-Goa Province, Rev. Fr Charles Serrao OCD, Superior, Superior of St Joseph’s Monastery, Rev. Fr Lancy Lewis OCD were present.
Rev. Fr Vijay Machado, Director, DBCLC animated the liturgical ceremony.
Bishop congratulated the newly ordained deacons: “Today we have ten Deacons amidst us which represents wholeness, and The Holy Catholic Church rejoices over ordaining these ten men at the service of our Lord” added the bishop.
Rev. Deacon Vivian Nishanth Rodrigues expressed his words of gratitude on behalf of all the deacons.
The number of participants for the ceremony was in limited numbers adhering to the norms of the government. Only the close relatives of deacons took part in this ceremony.


Pix by:- Stanley Bantwal

Share this:
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp