News Karnataka
Monday, December 05 2022

Its almost even stevens in Rajasthan civic polls

Photo Credit :

Jaipur: In what can be described as even stevens in the recently concluded civic elections,  it was 1443 BJP to 1908 opposition in terms of the no. of wards won. The results were announced on Thursday.

129 civic bodies in the state had gone to polls on 17 August. In the final tally of results, out of 3,351 wards in the civic bodies including the Ajmer Municipal Corporation, BJP won 1,443 wards, Congress 1,164, Independents 703, NCP 19, BSP 16, CPI 5 and CPM one ward, according a Rajasthan State Election Commission spokesman in Jaipur.

“A big thank you to people of Rajasthan. Congrats to Rajasthan BJP workers & leaders on the commendable performance in the civic polls,” Modi tweeted about the results in which BJP emerged ahead in 60 out of 129 municipal bodies but suffered setback in Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje’s pocket-borough of Dholpur and Jhalawar where it was defeated.

Congress, which was routed in the Lok Sabha elections last year, made significant gains attaining or nearing majority in around 40 bodies and was neck and neck with BJP in 17 bodies.

BJP was relieved that the Congress campaign against its chief minister did not have the impact they expected. Senior BJP leader and Union Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad said the results and trends of Rajasthan civic body polls showed how people replied to the Congress campaign of last two-three months against Raje over Lalit Modi controversy.

He reminded that BJP had recently won civic body polls in Madhya Pradesh as well despite the Congress campaign against its Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan over Vyapam scam. On the other hand, Rajasthan Congress chief Sachin Pilot, said, “The BJP got only 36% votes and Congress is only around two per cent less than it. Overall 64% people have voted against the BJP, which shows the mood of the people.”

Latching on to BJP’s loss in Raje’s constituency, Pilot said, “Congresss won both the Municpal Council seats in the CM’s constituency while it also won both seats in Lok Sabha MP Dushyant Singh’s constituency. This reflects the hard work of Congress workers. We have come a long way from our performance during last Assembly polls.”

Share this:
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Visit 7Jackpots and find the best online casinos in India! Play the most popular casino games for real money!

Find the best odds at 10Cric and ipl betting 2021! Signup today and get up to a 100% deposit bonus.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp