News Karnataka
Tuesday, March 21 2023

BBMP standing committee election postponed to Nov 10

Photo Credit :


Bengaluru: The election to the standing committees of the Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike (BBMP) has been postponed to November 10 since no nominations have been filed by any party member.

The elections were scheduled for Friday morning. Regional Commissioner M Jayanthi along with Assistant Election Officer V Shankar and Special Commissioner Vijay Shankar were present to conduct the polls.

As no senior leader either from the ruling Congress party or JD(S) had filed their nominations, the Regional Commissioner held a meeting with BBMP officers and arrived at a decision to put off the poll date until November 10, 2017.

Senior Congress leaders had held a meeting at the Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee (KPCC) office on Thursday and decided to seek a postponement of the election dates. When putting forth, the regional commissioner had refused to this request. The candidates were asked to file in their nominations between 8.00 am and 9.30 am by Friday morning.

However, none turned up for the nomination process. This initiated the regional commissioner to meet with the senior officers and decide to postpone the 12 standing committee chairman posts elections to November 10. This time, the candidates are asked to file in their nominations on November 9 itself between 10 am to 5.30 pm.

BBMP standing committee election postponed to Nov 10
BBMP standing committee election postponed to Nov 10
BBMP standing committee election postponed to Nov 10

Share this:
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rohan City Corp

Find the best odds at 10Cric and IPL Betting 2023! Signup today and get up to a 100% deposit bonus.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp