News Karnataka
Wednesday, April 24 2024

Citizenship Amendment Act 2019 Excludes Tribal Areas in North East

Citizenship Amendment Act 2019 Excludes Tribal Areas in North East
Photo Credit : Facebook

The Citizenship (Amendment) Act, 2019, which officially came into effect on Monday, will not be implemented in the majority of tribal areas in Northeastern states. This exemption applies particularly to regions granted special status under the 6th Schedule of the Constitution.

As per the law, the CAA will not be enforced in Northeastern states where the Inner Line Permit (ILP) is mandatory for visitors from other parts of the country. Currently, ILP is in force in Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Mizoram, and Manipur.

Tribal areas with autonomous councils established under the 6th Schedule of the Constitution are also excluded from the Citizenship (Amendment) Act. Such autonomous councils exist in Assam, Meghalaya, and Tripura, covering areas like Karbi Anglong, Dila Hasao, and Bodoland Territorial Council in Assam, Garo Hills in Meghalaya, and tribal areas in Tripura.

The CAA aims to grant citizenship to Hindus, Jains, Christians, Sikhs, Buddhists, and Parsis who arrived in India on or before December 31, 2014, from Bangladesh, Pakistan, and Afghanistan. The exemptions ensure a nuanced implementation of the law in consideration of the diverse tribal regions and special status areas in the Northeastern states.

Read Also:

“Key Issues” Solved by Citizenship Law CAA: Sources

Before General Polls, Citizenship Amendment Act to Be Notified: Amit Shah

Share this:
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
Nktv Live

To get the latest news on WhatsApp