News Karnataka
Saturday, December 03 2022

City to get 35 new buses by KSRTC under JnNURM

Photo Credit :

Mangaluru: The city is all set to get 35 new buses by Karnataka State Road Transport Corporation (KSRTC) under Jawaharlal Nehru National Urban Renewal Mission (JnNURM).

Under the Regional Transport Authority chairman DC A B Ibrahim has approved the same.

Out of these 35 buses which will run to different points around the city, 18 have been permitted to be operated from State Bank Circle, while the rest will function from the KSRTC bus stand here.

At present, the District Magistrate notification issued in 1992 has been in force in the city, as per which buses which get new permits are barred from entering Hampankatta and State Bank areas because of pressure of traffic, noise pollution, and shortage of space. This notification had been issued under Motor Vehicles Act 1988 by the then deputy commissioner.

However, Deputy Commissioner A B Ibrahim relaxed the district magistrate (DM) notification of 2013 allowing KSRTC Mangaluru division to run 18 non-A/c low floor city buses to various destinations from State Bank under Jawaharlal Nehru National Urban Renewal Mission (JnNURM).

As many as 35 city transport buses had been sanctioned here for KSRTC, and after pooling requests which came from the general public, routes having highest demand were identified. KSRTC had received 1,147 requests from the general public, while RTO received 1,157.

“Considering the advantages of buses under JnNURM scheme and convenience of general public, I have relaxed the previous notification. Accordingly, out of 35 applications submitted by the KSRTC to run JnNURM buses, 18 are excluded from the restrictions of previous notification and allowed to operate between State Bank bus stand other destinations. KSRTC has been directed to identify 18 routes, which can be given relaxation from DM notification. KSRTC may operate remaining 17 JnNURM buses from its depot,” Ibrahim stated in the revised notification.

The Union Ministry of Urban Development had sanctioned 65 buses to Mangalore division of KSRTC under the JnNURM scheme. Out of 65 non-A/c low-floor buses sanctioned under the scheme, 35 are reserved for Dakshina Kannada and remaining for Udupi. KSRTC Mangaluru division’s proposal was remaining pending before the RTA due to a DM notification that restricts the issuance of permits for city buses from State Bank bus stand.


Share this:
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Visit 7Jackpots and find the best online casinos in India! Play the most popular casino games for real money!

Find the best odds at 10Cric and ipl betting 2021! Signup today and get up to a 100% deposit bonus.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp