News Karnataka
Friday, September 17 2021


BJP bags mayor, deputy mayor seats in Shivamogga City Corporation

Shivamogga: The BJP’s Suvarna Shankar and Surekha Muralidhar have been elected as the Shivamogga City Corporation’s mayor and deputy mayor, respectively, on Wednesday, January 29.

The polls were held at 11.30 am today.

Suvarna Shankar of the BJP and Yamuna Rangegowda of the Congress party had filed their nominations for the Mayor’s seat.

Suvarna won with 26 votes against Yamuna, who managed to secure 12 votes.

For the Deputy Mayor’s seat, Mehak Sharif of the Congress and Surekha Muralidhar of the BJP had filed their nominations, Surekha emerged victorious with 26 votes, while Mehak got 12 votes.

The election was conducted under the guidance of Election Officer Rajendra Prasad.

Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Subscribe Newsletter

Get latest news karnataka updates on your email.

error: Content is protected !!