News Karnataka
Monday, April 22 2024

Samarth Championship: India Beat SL Again, Lead 2-0 in Series

Samarth Championship India Beat SL Again
Photo Credit : By Author

New Delhi: Ajay Kumar Reddy and Nakula Badanayak smashed fifties as Indian men’s blind cricket team defeated Sri Lanka by 134 runs in the second T20 of the Samarth Championship for Blind Cricket, an International bilateral blind men’s cricket series here on Tuesday in Karnail Singh Stadium in Delhi.

Gudadappa (B1) on his debut played an incredible innings with 48 runs. Ajay slammed 84 runs in 26 balls while Badanayak smashed 65 in 46 balls as India posted 273 runs in the allotted 20 overs. In response, Sri Lanka were restricted to 139/4, thereby losing the match by 134 runs. Gudadappa was adjudged the player of the match for his overall performance with the Bat and Ball. With this win, India has taken a 2-0 lead in the five-match T20 seriesSamarth Championship  for the blind.

Opting to bat first, India got off to a worst possible start as the side lost opener Lokesh on the first ball. The start worsened when India lost Sukhram Majhi in the second over. Gudadappa and Sunil Ramesh then build a 47-run stand for the third wicket.

While Gudadappa scored 48 in 27 balls, Sunil hit 36 in 18 balls. Badanayak and Ajay Kumar Reddy then took the matter in their hands and build a partnership of 128 runs as India posted 273/5 in the allotted 20 overs.

Chasing 274, Sri Lanka faltered early in the chase losing the opening wicket inside the powerplay for 34 runs. Despite having wickets in hands, Sri Lanka moved very slowly in the chase, in 8 overs, the visitors were 54/2. Saman Thushara tried to carry the Sri Lanka innings but got little or no support from the teammates. The visitors kept losing wickets at regular intervals and were restricted to 139/4.

Sri Lanka will now aim to make a comeback in the Samarth Championship series in the third T20 on Wednesday. If Sri Lanka loses on Wednesday, they will lose the Samarth Championship for Blind Cricket, an International bilateral blind men’s cricket series. The match will begin at 9:30 am in Karnail Singh Stadium in Delhi.

Read more:

India Beat Sri Lanka, Take 1-0 Lead in Blind Cricket Championship

India to Play Dubai Blind Cricket Triangular Series with Pak, SL

Shri Nitin Gadkari Cheers Players in Nagesh Blind Cricket Match

Share this:
Media Release

Read More Articles
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp