News Karnataka
Saturday, March 02 2024

Three to Debut as India Women Win Toss, Elect to Bat First

India to bat Women's Test
Photo Credit : IANS

Navi Mumbai: India Women captain Harmanpreet Kaur won the toss and elected to bat first in the four-day one-off Test against Enlgand Women at the DY Patil Stadium here on Thursday.

With the teams clashing in a Test match for the first time after 2021, there is a lot of interest centred on this match, which is also the first Test being hosted by India since a one-off Test against South Africa at Mysore in 2014. This is the first Test between India and England in India since 2005.

India handed debuts to batter Jemimah Rodrigues, pacer Renuka Thakur and allrounder Shubha Satheesh.

England women opted for Sophie Dunkley to open the innings with Tammy Beaumont, who scored a double-century in their last Test against Australia at Nottingham.

Playing XIs:

India: Smriti Mandhana, Shafali Varma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Satheesh Shubha, Taniya Bhatia (wk), Deepti Sharma, Pooja Vastrakar, Sneh Rana, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Renuka Thakur

England: Tammy Beaumont, Sophie Dunkley, Heather Knight (c), Nat Sciver-Brunt, Dannielle Wyatt, Amy Jones (wk), Sophie Ecclestone, Charlie Dean, Kate Cross, Lauren Filer, Lauren Bell.

Share this:
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Find the best odds at 10Cric and IPL Betting 2023! Signup today and get up to a 100% deposit bonus.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp