News Karnataka
Saturday, February 24 2024

Bypoll trends indicate BJP govt to continue in Karnataka

Photo Credit :


Bengaluru: Initial trends of vote count in 15 Assembly segments in Karnataka indicate that the ruling BJP government would continue in power in the southern state, a party official said on Monday.

According to early trends over an hour after counting of votes began at 8.00 a.m. in all the Assembly seats, the BJP is leading in 8 and the opposition Congress and Janata Dal-Secular in one each.

“Our candidates are leading in Athani, Kagwad, Gokak, Yellapur, Hirekuru, Vijayanagar, Chikkaballapur and Ranibennur,” BJP state unit spokesman G. Madhusudan told IANS here.

The ruling party requires a minimum of 7 seats in the 223-member Assembly for a simple majority with 112 as the halfway mark, as it already has 104 members, excluding the Speaker and the support of an Independent.

The opposition Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S) is leading in Yeshvanthapura in Bengaluru northern suburb, according to the Election Commission web site.

The Congress is leading in Shivajinagara in Bengaluru central after three of the 20 rounds of vote count.

The BJP and the opposition Congress contested in all the 15 Assembly seats, while the JD-S in 12 seats.

Share this:
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Find the best odds at 10Cric and IPL Betting 2023! Signup today and get up to a 100% deposit bonus.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp