News Karnataka
Sunday, April 21 2024

Internal Dissension Rattles BJP and Congress Ahead of Karnataka Elections

"Counting of postal votes in assembly elections commenced at 8 am on Sunday, revealing mixed outcomes. Congress and BJP are neck and neck in Rajasthan, Congress leads in Telangana and Chhattisgarh, while BJP holds a slight edge in Madhya Pradesh." 
Photo Credit : File photo

With ticket distribution completed by the two major political parties, BJP and Congress, in Karnataka, internal dissension has intensified within both factions regarding the declaration of candidates, casting a shadow over their electoral campaigns.

Notably, former Deputy Chief Minister KS Eshwarappa, renowned for his staunch support for the RSS, has openly rebelled against the BJP. The saffron party, with its 25 MPs and disciplined cadre, is grappling with discontent in over half a dozen constituencies.

Similarly, prominent Congress legislators have voiced concerns over the ticket distribution process, with five MLAs and two MLCs, including a state minister, threatening to resign in protest against potential ticket allocation decisions. Dissenters, led by Minister M C Sudhakar, oppose the prospect of Kolar ticket allocation to the son-in-law of Minister KH Muniyappa.

The BJP faces heightened challenges as it aims to replicate its 2019 performance, necessitating efforts to quell dissatisfaction and rally its cadres for ‘Mission 400’.

Despite BJP’s impressive performance in the state five years ago, the political landscape has shifted, with BJP and JD(S) aligning against a resurgent Congress, which emerged victorious in the Assembly polls eight months ago.

Internal strife within BJP is evident, with Eshwarappa lamenting the party’s condition in Karnataka and alleging control by a single family. He underscored the sidelining of those advocating Hindutva principles and affirmed his determination to contest the elections.

In contrast, Congress grapples with dissent in Kolar and Bagalkot constituencies, where discontent persists despite efforts to pacify disgruntled aspirants.

Karnataka, voting in two phases, plays a pivotal role in the general elections. BJP, in alliance with JDS, contests 25 out of 28 Lok Sabha seats, with confidence in resolving internal issues and securing victory across the state.

Karnataka BJP President B Y Vijayendra expressed optimism in resolving internal conflicts and emphasized the party’s commitment to triumph in all 28 Lok Sabha seats, while targeting the ruling Congress for its leadership’s failure to field ministers in the upcoming polls.

Share this:
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp