News Karnataka
Wednesday, April 24 2024
Other Sports

Tiger Woods Receives Top USGA Accolade: Bob Jones Award

Photo Credit : Google

Tiger Woods has been chosen to receive the USGA’s highest honor, the Bob Jones Award, which honors his dedication to sportsmanship and reverence for the game’s traditions. With 82 career wins on the PGA Tour, including 15 majors, Woods is usually recognized for his accomplishments on the golf course.

“This award goes beyond playing performance, recognizing the lasting impact of one person’s journey that has forever changed the image and growth of golf,” said Mike Whan, the CEO of the USGA. “There are very few who stand alongside Tiger Woods in terms of on-course accomplishments, and he is in a class of his own when it comes to the impact he has made on the game and future generations who will play it.”

Woods was inducted into the World Golf Hall of Fame in 2022, and he received the Presidential Medal of Freedom from Donald Trump in 2019. Woods is a nine-time USGA champion, winning three straight U.S. Junior Amateurs, followed by three straight U.S. Amateurs, and then the U.S. Open at Pebble Beach (2000), Bethpage Black (2002) and Torrey Pines (2008).

“Bob Jones was a pillar of our game because of the integrity with which he played it, and I’m truly humbled to receive the award that bears his name and join the many who have received it before me who continue his legacy,” Woods said in a statement.

When the Grand Slam was made up of the British Open, British Amateur, U.S. Open, and U.S. Amateur, Jones won it in 1930. Afterwards, he invented the Masters and co-founded Augusta National Golf Club.

Away from the golf course, Woods founded the TGR Foundation, which prioritizes STEM-based learning at the TGR Learning Lab in California and educational opportunities. In addition, he founded a company to design golf courses. A PGA Tour event was held at one of his courses in Cabo San Lucas, Mexico, last fall.

Woods will be honored June 12 during the U.S. Open at Pinehurst No. 2 in North Carolina. Previous winners include Arnold Palmer and Jack Nicklaus, Mickey Wright and Ben Hogan, and former President George H.W. Bush.

Read More

India’s Chess Champs Await Visas for Wc Qualifiers

Share this:
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
Nktv Live

To get the latest news on WhatsApp