News Karnataka
Thursday, February 22 2024

Vijayapura: Denial of ticket to Appu, Banajigas not to vote BJP

Photo Credit : By Author

Vijayapura: “Since the BJP has cheated us and did injustice to Banajiga community by denying ticket to Former MLA Appu Pattanshetty, therefore, the community has decided to vote against BJP candidate, Basanagouda Patil Yatnal and the BJP in the coming Assembly polls”.

This was the clear cut announcement made by the office-bearers of the District unit of Karnataka State Banajiga Kshemabhiruddhi Sangha.

Addressing a press conference on Thursday April 13 the leaders of the community accused the BJP of neglecting the community by not giving ticket to prominent leaders.

“First the party denied a ticket to Appu Pattanshetty despite the fact that he has been associated with the BJP for decades and never went against in any situation. Similarly, the party did not offer any ticket to our leader in Bagalakote District also. The party’s decision has hurt the feelings of the community, therefore, we have decided to vote against the party and give fitting reply to its action in the election,” said, Sunil Rabashetty, one the prominent office-bearers of the community.

They claimed that over 90% voters of the community have been voting for BJP for years, but now the community has lost faith in the party after the aspirants denied ticket. Replying to the rumours that the majority of the community has internally announced to vote for Yatnal, another leader Muttu Kinagi said that there may be a fraction of people but not majority.

“Most of the people of the community are upset with BJP for not giving ticket to our leaders and they are angry with Yatnal because of derogatory remarks he made against our community. He even refused to tender an apology for his statement, therefore, we have decided to vote against Yatnal in the election,” he said.

Claiming that the community has over 30,000 votes in Vijayapura City alone, Kinagi said that majority of them will vote against Yatnal.

Asked whether they will vote for any particular party if not to the BJP, he only said that they have decided to vote against BJP but no decision has been taken on which party.

“We will decide that part later after holding consultation with our community,” he said.

Share this:
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp