News Karnataka
Tuesday, December 12 2023

SAC holds Student Council 2023-24 investiture ceremony

SAC holds Student Council 2023to24 investiture ceremony
Photo Credit : News Karnataka

Mangaluru: The Investiture Ceremony of the Student Council 2023-24 of St Aloysius College (Autonomous), was held on 1 August 2023 in the L F Rasquinha Hall of LCRI Block. The chief guest for the occasion was Prof. (Dr) M.S. Moodithaya, Vice-Chancellor of Nitte Deemed-to-be University, Mangaluru. Rev. Fr Melwin Joseph Pinto SJ, Rector of St Aloysius Institutions presided over the programme. Rev Dr Praveen Martis SJ, Principal; Dr Alwyn D’Sa, Registrar of the College; Dr Anup Denzil Veigas, Director, Student Council; Binni Chan, Assistant Director, Student Council and Student Council leaders were on the dais.

Chief Guest Prof. M.S. Moodithaya in his address said that “A Good Leader leads the people from above them. A great leader leads the people from within them”. He said that the elected members of Student Council may have great ideas and urged them to implement them with great responsibility. He also said that the position gives power and it is important who you do with power. He suggested the students follow the 5 D’s, namely- Destination, Direction, Discipline, Dedication, and Devotion. He encouraged the students to acquire more knowledge and practical ideas to create a better India.

Addressing the students, Rev Dr Praveen Martis, SJ said, “You are all called to be the leaders of St Aloysius College, so celebrate your leadership. Leadership is the special quality that you have in yourselves. Develop good qualities to prove yourselves as good leaders.” He suggested the student council members collaborate with staff and encourage the involvement of students in the institutional activities.”

Rector of St Aloysius Institutions, Fr Melwin Pinto SJ in his Presidential remarks said, “Leadership is not a position, it is a passion. Be proud of where you come from, and develop the power of empowerment. Being on the Council is not a privilege, but a responsibility. Your service to the institution and community is needed. Be a true Leader, Be a role model to others. Be a change in your society, be a change in your College.

Rev Fr. Praveen Martis SJ administered the Oath to President Christon Joshua Menezes, III B.B.A.; Vice President, Blanche Rodrigues, III B.Com.; Secretary, Riya DSouza, II B.Com.; Joint Secretary, Rohan Danny Machado, II B.A.; Cultural Secretary, Diya Padav, II BBA, Sports Secretary, Maria Anjali Baptist, III B.Sc.; Principal’s Nominee, Diya Eagan Mascarenhas, III B.A. and Mohammed Kaif Hussain, II B.Voc. (Retail Management) and all the Class Representatives and Association Secretaries.

On this occasion, the Student Council Directory was released by the Chief Guest.

Rev. Fr Vincent Pinto, Directors of various blocks, Dr Charles Furtado, Dr Narayana Bhat, Dr Ronald Nazareth, Dr Denis Fernandes, Dr Loveena Lobo and Deans of various streams were present.

Binni Chan, assistant director of the Student Council introduced the chief guest. Aden Nathaniel Vassou compered the programme meticulously. Dr Anup Denzil Veigas welcomed the gathering. Christon Joshua Menezes, President of Student Council rendered the vote of thanks.

Share this:
Media Release

Read More Articles
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
Editor's Pick

Find the best odds at 10Cric and IPL Betting 2023! Signup today and get up to a 100% deposit bonus.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp