News Karnataka
Thursday, December 07 2023

Finally, DK Shivakumar appointed as new KPCC President

Photo Credit :

dkshBengaluru: Congress strongman DK Shivakumar has been appointed as the President of the Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee, according to a press release issued by the All India Congress Committee on Wednesday, March 11.

Along with this, the party high command has also appointed MLC M Narayanswamy as the Chief Whip of the Karnataka Legislative Council while the post of Karnataka Legislative Assembly Chief Whip has been given to MLA Ajay Singh.

Former CM Siddaramaiah will continue as the Leader of Opposition in Vidhan Sabha.

Interestingly, three loyalists of former CM Siddaramaiah have been appointed as KPCC working presidents. They include Satish Jarakiholi, Saleem Ahmed (from Haveri), and Eshwar Khandre.

According to sources, AICC has pulled off a balancing act by appointing three working presidents from different communities.

DK Shivakumar belongs to the dominant Vokkaliga community while Jarakiholi is a Dalit leader. Eshwar Khandre is a Lingayat strongman.

Share this:
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
Editor's Pick

Find the best odds at 10Cric and IPL Betting 2023! Signup today and get up to a 100% deposit bonus.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp