News Karnataka
Monday, March 04 2024

Five medical colleges in state restricted from admitting students

Photo Credit :

medical education mn

Bengaluru: As per the recommendations of the Medical Council of India ( MCI), the Union Health Ministry has restricted 82 medical colleges from admitting students for the year 2018-19. It includes 5 colleges of the state and 690 seats.

Health Department Additional Chief Secretary V Manjula said, “St. John’s Medical College of Bengaluru will lose 90 seats, Koppala Institute of Medical Science-150, The Oxford Medical College Hospital of Yadavanahalli-150, Sambhram Institute of Medical Science of Kolara -150, Akash Institute of Medical Science and Research Centre of Bengaluru will lose 150 seats. A total of 690 medical seats will be deducted by this.”

When the MCI members visited various medical institutes and verified the facilities, there were many loopholes. The MCI had made the recommendations considering the basic amenities, staff, and lack of resources.

Share this:
Bhavana S

Read More Articles
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp