News Karnataka
Friday, March 01 2024

Nagesh Trophy: Karnataka, Delhi Register Mammoth Wins

Nagesh Trophy Karnataka Delhi register mammoth wins
Photo Credit : By Author

Dehradun: Karnataka thrashed Maharashtra by 113 runs while Delhi drubbed Pondicherry by 128 runs on Thursday here at the Doon Baluni Cricket Academy in the ongoing 6th edition of IndusInd Bank Nagesh Trophy – Men’s National T20 Cricket Tournament for the Blind 2023-24.

In the first match of the day, Karnataka smashed 224/5 in the allotted 20 overs on the back of a sensational ton (104 in 49 balls) by wicketkeeper batter Prakash Jayaramaiah. The side restricted Maharashtra at 111/8, thereby registering a 113-run win. Prakash Jayaramaiah was named as the Player of the Match.

In the second match on Thursday, Delhi went all guns blazing on Pondicherry with Alok Kumar slamming a gutsy century (115 in 66 balls) and Irfan Diwan smashing 80 runs in 39 balls. Delhi slammed 260/5 in the allotted 20 overs and then restricted Pondicherry at 132/1. Though Pondicherry just lost a single wicket but was still unable to get close to the target. Alok Kumar was adjudged the Player of the Match for his scintillating ton.

Pondicherry will now meet Karnataka in their next match and will look to conclude the Dehradun leg with a win while Uttarakhand will lock horns with Delhi on Friday here at the Doon Baluni Cricket Academy on Day 5.

After the conclusion of the Jammu leg, the IndusInd Bank Nagesh Trophy moved to Dehradun for the Group B matches, featuring intense competitions among Karnataka, Delhi, Maharashtra, Pondicherry, and Uttarakhand. The Dehradun leg began on Monday with Delhi, Maharashtra, Pondicherry, and Uttarakhand getting in action.

The ongoing 6th edition of the Nagesh Trophy began on November 23 with the four teams of Group E battling out at the University of Jammu. The tournament will run till February 02, 2024, and the League stage will be played till December 29, 2023.

Nagesh Trophy was launched in memory of the Late SP Nagesh, Founder President, of the Cricket Association for the Blind in India and its Founder Trustee, Samarthanam Trust for the Disabled.

The launch of the tournament brought together the entire blind cricket community into one huge platform, creating a milestone in blind cricket history.

Nagesh Trophy Karnataka Delhi register mammoth wins

Read more:

Nagesh Trophy: U’khand defeats M’rashtra’, K’taka defeats Delhi

Nagesh Trophy: K’taka beats U’khand, M’rashtra beats Pondicherry

Nagesh Trophy: U’khand defeat P’cherry, Delhi thrash M’rashtra

KCAB declares captain, vice-captain of K’taka Nagesh Trophy Team

Nagesh Trophy: Odisha, AP, K’taka, Gujarat reach semifinals

Share this:
Media Release

Read More Articles
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Find the best odds at 10Cric and IPL Betting 2023! Signup today and get up to a 100% deposit bonus.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp