News Karnataka
Thursday, April 25 2024

BJP Opts for Fresh Faces in Lok Sabha Constituencies

BJP Opts for Fresh Faces in Lok Sabha Constituencies
Photo Credit : Facebook

In a move attributed to the anti-incumbency factor, the BJP has decided not to field its incumbent Members of Parliament in Dakshina Kannada and Udupi-Chikkamagaluru Lok Sabha constituencies. Instead, the party has chosen new candidates for the upcoming elections.

Brijesh Chowta, a 43-year-old ex-serviceman and secretary of the BJP’s State unit, has been selected to contest from Dakshina Kannada, replacing the incumbent and former president of the State unit, Nalin Kumar Kateel. Meanwhile, Leader of the Opposition in the Legislative Council Kota Srinivas Poojary will represent the party in Udupi-Chikkamagaluru, replacing the incumbent and Union Minister Shobha Karandlaje, who will contest from Bengaluru North.

The BJP has a strong history in both constituencies. In Dakshina Kannada, the party has held the seat for eight consecutive terms since 1991, with the aim to secure a ninth consecutive victory with a margin of over three lakh votes. The outgoing MP, Nalin Kumar Kateel, won the last election with a margin of 2.74 lakh votes.

Similarly, in Udupi-Chikkamagaluru, the BJP opened its account in 1998 and has won the seat for four terms. Kota Srinivas Poojary, the new candidate, brings political experience as the former Minister in the BJP government in the State, having handled various portfolios including muzrai, fisheries, ports and inland transport, social and backward classes welfare, and serving as the Leader of the House in the Legislative Council.

Brijesh Chowta, the new face for Dakshina Kannada, brings a diverse background, having served as a Captain in the Indian Army before transitioning into politics. He has been actively involved in party affairs and community initiatives, including organizing the Mangaluru Kambala and Mangaluru Litfest.

The BJP’s decision to introduce fresh faces reflects its strategy to address anti-incumbency sentiments and rejuvenate its electoral prospects in these crucial constituencies.

Read Also: 

Former Army Captain Brijesh Chowta to Lead BJP in Karnataka Elections

Nalin Kumar Kateel Extends Congratulations to BJP Party Nominee


Share this:
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
Nktv Live

To get the latest news on WhatsApp