News Karnataka
Wednesday, November 29 2023

AP and K’taka are joint winners of Nagesh Trophy 2023

 AP and K'taka are joint winners of Nagesh Trophy 2023
Photo Credit : By Author

 Hyderabad: Andhra Pradesh and Karnataka were declared joint winners of the IndusInd Bank Nagesh Trophy National T20 Cricket for the Blind 2022 -23 after the match was abandoned due to persistent rains in the finals. Not a single ball was bowled in the finals which had promised to be a cracking affair in the repeat of the previous edition’s finals. Both teams were awarded INR 1,25,000/- as prize money for the most coveted national tournament in blind cricket. Anjanappa Muttappa- CFO of Samarthanam Trust for the Disabled, E John David, General Secretary, CABI, Chandrashekar, Treasurer CABI, Sridhar, President CAB Telangana, and Kanil Reddy General Secretary, CABT were present at the closing ceremony. 

Naresh Tumda of Gujarat was declared the Man of the Series in the B1 category, D. Venkateswara Rao of Andhra Pradesh won the honours in the B2 category while Deepak Malik of Haryana took away the individual award in the B3 category. Each Man of the series prize winner received a cash prize of INR 15000/- and a trophy. 

The 5th edition of the Nagesh Trophy saw 28 teams participating with 7 cities hosting 69 matches. Chandigarh hosted Group F, Belagavi, Karnataka hosted Group B, Puducherry hosted Group D, Group A matches were held at Chennai, Ajmer hosted Group C and Jabalpur hosted Group E. Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Gujarat, Odisha, Haryana, Delhi, Jharkhand and Chandigarh qualified for the Super 8s which were held in Hyderabad. Andhra, Karnataka, Gujarat and Odisha qualified for the semifinals where Andhra got the better of Gujarat while the other semifinal between Karnataka and Gujarat was abandoned. Karnataka qualified for the finals by virtue of topping the group. 

The tournament was conducted by Samarthanam Trust for the disabled under the aegis of the Cricket Association for the Blind in India.

Individual Awards:

Man of the Series:

B1 – Naresh Tumda (Gujarat)

B2 – D. Venkateswara Rao (Andhra Pradesh)

B3 – Deepak Malik (Haryana)

Read more:

AP and Karnataka to clash in the Nagesh Trophy final

.Deepak Malik’s double century steals the thunder in Nagesh Trophy

Nagesh Trophy: Odisha, AP, K’taka, Gujarat reach semifinals

Jharkhand cruises to Nagesh Trophy Super 8s with win over Bihar

Punjab’s solid play gets it two straight wins in Nagesh Trophy

Share this:
Media Release

Read More Articles
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
Editor's Pick

Find the best odds at 10Cric and IPL Betting 2023! Signup today and get up to a 100% deposit bonus.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp